Minutes of the ASA Labor Section Business Meeting

ASA Conference New York August 14, 2007 11:30 AM – 12:30 PM

(1) The meeting was called to order by Chair Rick Fantasia at 11:35 AM. Thirty five people were present. Rick stated that membership was between 415 - 418 (depending on date of report). We aim for 450, which is a comfortable margin to keep us above 400 with seasonal fluctuations.

(2) Committees

- (A) Rick asked for volunteers to add to the **Membership Committee** (to supplement Rachel Meyer and Steven Lopez). Preston Rudy volunteered.
- (B) **Program Committee**. Rick asked for volunteers to supplement existing members Edna Bonacich, Jill Esbenshade, Michael Schwartz, and Rick Fantasia. Volunteers: Steve McKay, Barry Eidlin, and Daisy Rooks.
- (C) **Best Book Award Committee.** Rick asked for volunteers to supplement existing member Steve Lopez. Volunteers: Marc Dixon, Bob Ross. It was approved unanimously to make the book award an annual event.
- (D) **Best Article Award Committee.** Rick asked for volunteers to build this committee (which should be chaired by Tamara Kay, who won the last award, but she wasn't there to accept this position). Volunteers: Carolina Bank Munoz, Ben Lind (Univ. Cal. at Irvine). It was approved unanimously to make this award an annual event. (This may not be possible immediately, however, pending a check into our by-laws; we will see.)
- (E) **Best Student Paper Award Committee**. Rick asked for volunteers for this committee, which should be chaired by Cesar Rodriguez. Volunteers: In addition to Cesar, Daisy Rooks and George Gonos.
- (3) Budget. Secretary-Treasurer Bruce Nissen reported that we have \$3,313 in the bank, minus what we spent at this convention. That should be about \$950 \$1,000. So, that makes about \$2,300. With the new year, we should be getting about \$1,800 from the ASA parent organization, probably giving us about \$4,000 by the time of next year's conference.
- (4) Award Winners. Steve Lopez announced the winners of this year's book award prize. Runner up was Ruth Milkman, *LA Story*. Winner was Steven McKay, *Satanic Mills*. Steve explained the themes and the importance of both of these very fine books. Ruth Milkman announced the winners of this year's student paper awards. Runner up is Denisse Roca-Servat, "The Case of Latino Construction Workers in Arizona." Winner is Cesar Rodriguez-Garavito, "Sewing Resistance." Ruth explained the themes and the importance of these two excellent articles.
- (5) Newsletter. The group gave a big round of applause to Rachel Sherman for a job well done with the newsletter in the past. Duties now transfer to Jeff Goodwin and a team of students at NYU.

- (6) Chair duties. The duties of the chair were transferred to Edna Bonacich and Jill Esbenshade. They asked for volunteers to help Rick with the nominations committee. There were no volunteers.
- (7) Ideas for next year's conference. Edna and Jill announced a mini-conference on Race & Labor, co-sponsored with the Association of Black Sociologists, just before next year's conference. We will be giving out an award at the conference for best work on race and labor. Ideas for the sessions at next year's conference: (a) the Labor Movement and Socialism; (b) Alternatives to the NLRB process; (c) the Labor Movement and the Democratic Party; (d) Antiracism and Labor. Suggestions from the floor: some overlap with the "work" sections ("changing dynamics of work", etc.); putting "race" into all topics; race and labor markets; organizing undocumented workers; and labor leadership. The committee will consider all these suggestions.
- (8) EFCA. Bruce Nissen noted that sociologists had been mostly absent during the recent fight over the Employee Free Choice Act. Shouldn't we be more involved in public issues and affairs. It was decided to set up a Public Affairs Task Force, and Bruce was army-styled "volunteered" to be on it and probably even to lead it. Other volunteers: Chris Rhomberg, Bob Ross, Sarah Hernandez, and David Dobbie.

Meeting was adjourned at 12:25 PM.

Minutes respectfully submitted by Bruce Nissen, Secretary-Treasurer.